top of page

Discerning God's Voice

If you find yourself "stuck" in your life, take the time and get quiet and ask God for His guidance.

There are many times I still find myself questioning whether I am hearing God's voice or if Satan is intervening.


As my readers have read in my second book, The Voice of Faith: The Awakening Begins, there are several ways to discern God's voice. Though, there is one thing I can assure you, God's voice will calm you in any situation that you find yourself in.


Satan, however, loves to make you feel paralyzed, scared and uneasy.


Let's take a look at some examples to help clarify God's voice.


God's Voice

  • Stills you

  • Reassures you

  • Leads you

  • Encourages you

  • Enlightens you

  • Comforts you

  • Calms you

  • Convicts you

Satan's Voice

  • Rushes you

  • Pushes you

  • Frightens you

  • Confuses you

  • Discourages you

  • Worries you

  • Obsesses you

  • Condemns you

 

Look at these statements, can you think of a time when you were being "attacked" by the devil? The devil is always trying to find ways to destroy us, tear us down and think differently of ourselves. However God's love is nothing but LOVE. He loves us so much that He gave us His only begotten son. John 3:16.

Presently in my own life, I am struggling with the fear of dying. A month ago, my mother passed away from a sudden heart attack. It was so unexpected, that now as each day goes by, I have been afraid and thinking I am going to die the same way. Satan has played with my thoughts and has given me crippling anxiety about my health.


Still, I keep hearing God's comforting voice saying to me "You are not dying. You have much more to do for me."

In the last twelve years, both of my parents have passed. Since my mother's passing, the days have felt hard, lonely, dark, and I feel lost. Both my sister and I have struggled with feeling like we are now orphans. I imagine that for those of you who have lost both of your parents, you have had feelings similar to these as well.


I can "see" my mother and father. I can "hear" my mother and father and I know God is "allowing" me to see them and hear them. I can even confidently tell you that God was preparing me for my mothers passing since 2019 (I will share in another blog about that).


Readers will say to me "I can't hear God's voice."

Going back to hearing God's voice. Readers will say to me "I can't hear God's voice." Yes, some of you cannot hear him audibly but, I will tell you that God is still communicating with you. He could be using His Word, others, numbers, symbols, circumstances, or a simple feeling of peace within you.

Are you listening? If you take the time to open yourself to Him, He is anxious to show you who He is.


Yes, some of you cannot hear him audibly but, I will tell you that God is still communicating with you.

If you find yourself "stuck" in your life, take the time and get quiet and ask God for His guidance. He will lead you, I promise. If you feel "nothing" then do nothing. If you receive a nudge to do something or if a thought keeps coming back to you, then listen for the message that He is trying to show you. Here is a simple exercise you can use to get you started.

 
  1. Pray: Dear Heavenly Father, I’m open to hear and/or see whatever You want me to hear/see. I am here to serve You. Your Will, is my will.

  2. Tip: Try looking a picture of Jesus and envision yourself being in His presence.

  3. Lower the lights, go to a quiet environment, and silence your phone/tv.

  4. Now, open your journal, turn your attention to your senses and write down whatever imagines flashes in your mind, words or feelings that come to you, etc. Do not question what is brought to your attention.

  5. Thank God for speaking to you.

  6. Ask your Heavenly Father questions about what you have written. What are You trying to show me? Who is this for? What do You want me to know?

  7. End with asking this question, "What do You want me to do for You today?"

  8. NOW, DO WHAT HE SAYS!!

 

Please take some time and reflect on your own life. Really look and see how God has been whispering to you. He is with you now and He has been with you this entire time. He has been walking with you, helping you, comforting you, and guiding you.


I would LOVE to hear your stories and testimonies! Leave a comment below or email me at AuthorHeatherLarribas@gmail.com.


Love and light to you always,

Heather Larribas



 





Recent Posts

See All

Welcome!

Sunset

Send Me a Prayer & I'll Send One Back

bottom of page